Web Resources

Website listing for various maternal child health related topics. Includes links to on-line continuing education modules for health care professionals.

Alcohol Abuse/Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders: www.fascenter.samhsa.gov
National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome: www.NOFAS.org
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: www.niaaa.nih.gov
NJ FAS Disorders and Other Perinatal Addictions: www.beintheknownj.org

Behavioral Health

American Psychological Association: www.apa.org
Perform Care (Provides behavioral health resources to families and professionals): www.performcarenj.org

Breastfeeding

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine: www.bfmed.org
American Academy of Pediatrics: www.aap.org
Best for Babes: www.bestforbabes.org
Breastfeeding Inc: www.breastfeedinginc.ca
Breastfeeding OnLine: www.breastfeedingonline.com
Breastfeeding USA: breastfeedingusa.org
CDC Guide to Strategies to Support Breastfeeding Mothers and Babies: www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/resources/guide
Infant Risk Center (Information on medications and breastfeeding): www.infantrisk.com
International Lactation Consultants Association: www.ilca.org
Joint Commission (Speak Up  Campaign): www.jointcommission.org/speakup
La Leche League: www.llli.org
LactMed (medications and breastfeeding data base): toxnet.nlm.nih.gov
United States Breastfeeding Committee toolkit: www.usbreastfeeding.org
Zip Milk (Locate a lactation consultant in New Jersey): www.zipmilk.org

Immunizations

AAP Red Book Vaccine Status Table: aapredbook.aappublications.org/site/news/vaccstatus.xhtml
CDC recommendations for international travel: www.cdc.gov/travel
CHOP Vaccine Education Center: www.chop.edu/service/vaccine-education-center/home.html
Shot by Shot (Vaccine Stories): shotbyshot.org
Vaccine Information in multiple languages: www.immunize.org/vis
Vaccinate Your Baby: www.vaccinateyourbaby.org

Lead Poisoning Prevention and Healthy Homes

American Academy of Pediatrics: www.aap.org
EPA Lead Program: www.epa.gov/lead
National Center for Healthy Housing: www.nchh.org
NJ Poison Control Center: www.njpies.org
Safe Kids New Jersey: www.safekids.org/coalition/safe-kids-new-jersey
New Jersey Department of Health: www.nj.gov/health/fhs/newborn/lead.shtml
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) (Lead Recalls): www.cpsc.gov
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD): www.hud.gov/offices/lead
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Safety/Recalls): www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/default.htm

Nutrition/Exercise

National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity (Healthy Meeting Toolkit): www.cspinet.org/nutritionpolicy/healthy
Shaping NJ: www.shapingnj.gov
United States Department of Agriculture: Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (USDA): www.usda.gov

Parenting

American Academy of Pediatrics: www.aap.org and www.healthychildren.org
NJ Early Intervention System (Services for infants and toddlers with developmental delays): www.thefamilymatterswebsite.org
Parent Link (Early childhood, parenting and professional resource center): www.njparentlink.nj.gov
SIDS Center of NJ (Safe sleep information for parents and hospital toolkit): www.rwjms.rutgers.edu/sids
Keeping Babies Safe (Safe sleep, safety tips, and product recall information): keepingbabiessafe.org

Postpartum Depression/Perinatal Mood Disorders

NJ Speak Up When You’re Down: njspeakup.gov
Postpartum Dads: Postpartumdads.org
Postpartum Stress Center (NJ and PA): Postpartumstress.com
Postpartum Support International: Postpartum.net
Support Group List: Click here

Pregnancy/Childbirth

American College of Nurse Midwives (NJ affiliate): http://www.newjerseymidwife.org/
American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists: www.acog.org
Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses: www.awhonn.org
Before, Between and Beyond Pregnancy (Preconception Interconception Care): www.before and beyond.com
Birth Tools (tools for optimizing the outcomes of labor): www.birthtools.org
Calm Birth (meditation for pregnancy and childbirth): www.calmbirth.org
Childbirth Connection: www.childbirthconnection.org
Doulas of North America: www.dona.org
Lamaze International: www.lamaze.org
March of Dimes: www.marchofdimes.com
NJ Affiliate of the American College of Nurse Midwives: www.newjerseymidwife.org
Sidelines National Support Network (Support for women experiencing complicated pregnancies): www.sidelines.org
Skin-to-skin Contact (Support for Kangaroo Mother Care): Skintoskincontact.com
US Food and Drug Administration (Information on taking medications while pregnant): www.fda.gov/pregnancyregistries

Professional Education (Online modules for continuing education credit)

American Academy of Pediatrics: www.aap.org
American Congress of Obstetricians: www.acog.org
American Psychological Association :www.apa.org
Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses: www.awhonn.org
Before, Between and Beyond Pregnancy (Preconception and Interconception): www.before and beyond.com 
Breastfeeding Conferences: www.breastfeedingconferences.com
International Lactation Consultants Association: www.ilca.org
March of Dimes: www.marchofdimes.com/professionals/professional-education.aspx
MCH Navigator (Learning opportunities for health professionals): www.mchnavigator.org/a-z.php
National Association of Neonatal Nurses: www.nann.org
National Association of Social Workers- NJ chapter: www.naswnj.org
Pediatric Nursing Certification Board: www.pncb.org
For a calendar of upcoming maternal child health education programs for professionals, click here.

Sexual Health

Bedsider (Offers guidance on selecting and accessing methods of birth control): www.bedsider.org 
Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (Addresses gender identity and gender expression in K-12 schools): www.glsen.org 
Guttmacher Institute (Focuses on reproductive health): www.guttmacher.org 
Planned Parenthood: www.plannedparenthood.org 
Scarleteen (Information about various topics on sexuality for teens and twenty-somethings): www.scarleteen.com
Sex, Etc (For and by teens about various aspects of sexuality): www.sexetc.org
Stay Teen (Teen sexual health and relationships): www.stayteen.org 
Teen Health FX (Information for teens on health, relationships sexuality): www.teenhealthfx.com

Smoking Cessation

Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids: www.tobaccofreekids.org
Moms’ Quit Connection: www.snjpc.org/askadviserefer/
Tobacco Free for a Healthy New Jersey: www.tobaccofreenj.com

Getting Involved